Someone to watch over me

grandpa

I really contemplated whether or not to write this post. The emotions I feel are as raw as a new flesh wound and feel like I haven’t fully come to terms with our loss. I said goodbye to the foundation and pillar of who I am. I said goodbye to my beloved Grandfather.

What made me decide to write this post is my intention to leave a digital footprint on the life that my Grandfather lived. Being 80 years old, he never understood the wonders of what technology and it just wouldn’t feel right not to share a glimpse of the fiercely fashionable, great and genuinely good man, my grandfather was.

My Grandfather was the warmest and most beautiful soul I have ever known. He was the embodiment of a man who really worked hard at living a full life.  He capitalized on absolutely every second of every minute, embracing ever hour of the day. Swimming, golfing, ball room dancing, and socializing friends, there was not one moment he wasn’t making someone laugh or being the shoulder to cry on when they were in despair. He was the kind of man who would give you his jacket on stormy day.

He was every grandchild’s dream Grandfather. The abundance of love and joy that he brought into our lives has taught us to be good people. To love on those, not only those in our immediate family, but everyone around us. He instilled the belief that it was our duty in life to become great people and a positive contributor to society. Most importantly he taught us that love overcomes all adversity.

If you were to ask anyone who met him what the most memorable thing about him, I guarantee they would all say his impeccable sense of style. The number of suits in all ranges of colours and textures could make any man envious. His staple fashion accessory was either a fantastic fedora he paired with one of his suits or a lovely scarf to keep him watch on his travels. He showed me at a very young age that the right outfit could lift your spirits despite whatever you were going through.

I feel like a part of my soul has left my heart but I know that he’s finally at peace. He is where he belongs, right by my Grandmother’s side just like he had always been. Thank you Grandpa, for being such a huge part of my life. I will always miss you.

About Nina

Dreamer, ambitious, fierce but kind. Just celebrating the essence of being a woman.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

