Chic, Office-Friendly Polish

I have a tendency to go towards colours like  Jade is the New Black by O.P.I., Chanel’s Mimosa and the oh.so.fabulous Debroah Lippmann Glitter polishes. Every once in a while my Japanese side intensifies my desire for these types of polishes and makes me want to go all Ganguro, Harajuku girl on myself. It gives me the irresistible urge to paint my nails with the most glittery polishes I can get my hands on, rock the biggest, baddest false eyelashes I own and dye my hair ash blonde. Who cares, I’m still young, right? Wrong.

Let’s be frank here, when you’re early on in your career, first-impressions count. My Boss and Mentor has taught me that you dress and act for the profession you want, not the one you have now. I’ve realized you’re going to have to make some compromises early on to further your career to become who you were meant to be. If I chose to succumb to my Harajuku girl urges,  I would look like a Korean/Japanese version of Ke$ha,sneezing out rainbow coloured glitter, and slinging drinks at the bar – ok I’m being overdramatic, but you get my point.

I’ve been rocking rich and sophisticated colours from the O.P.I France collection over the last couple years (with the exception of some fun colours during Vacations). I love, love, LOVE all the colours that the France collection has to offer but I was starting to feel my nails were bland and boring. After the Two Thousand Eleven post by Emily of Cupcakes and Cashmere, I was reminded of a pin I had on one of my boards on Pinterest and was inspired to give it a shot. 2 hours later, my take below.

Pinterest

My take - Russian Navy and Glitzerland by O.P.I.

This nail look is simple, chic, but different. Its tamed my inner Harajuku girl (for now) without feeling like I haven’t cheated her.

About Nina

Dreamer, ambitious, fierce but kind. Just celebrating the essence of being a woman.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

