2011, I’ll Drink to That.

It’s that time of year when everyone is hustlin’ to find that perfect New Years Eve dress and the hottest event end off 2011 and kick off 2012. Its also the time many of us sit down, and reflect on the past year. This is the scariest time of the year for me, when I force myself to sit down and reflect on all the events that happened the past year.

Self reflection can be a scary thing. It forces you to face the events that happened over the last year and analyze what you could have done better, and what you’ve learned. This will be the 2nd year, I’ve forced this type of self reflection upon myself. At the end of 2010, I finally told myself I was sick of whining about what I wanted and what I didn’t have. The only person I could blame for my shortcomings or lack of opportunities was myself. 2011 has flashed by and I can definitively say I have grown into a better, more happier self.

This year, I realized that there is no one like me, nor will their ever will be . It freaked me out at first, but I soon I felt liberated. For the first time in my life I realized that I’m the Dj to my own song, the author of my own book. I am a pirate, as Steve Jobs would say, and I was finally okay with that. I continue to feel like a mash up of fear and liberation but its helped me ask the right questions that determined the type of habits I wanted to develop.

In the beginning of 2011, my top resolution was to Get Fit. This year has been my healthiest year to date. The input of junk food was drastically minimized and I’ve actually lost a total of 10 lbs. I finally trimmed some weight as opposed to adding pounds, which I had done year after year. My body started to crave veggies and it felt horrible when I didn’t drink adequate amounts of water.

All in all, the greatest piece of knowledge I uncovered was to get uncomfortable. From speeches from the top tech CEO’s to documentaries from musician’s like Beyonce, I learned that the nervous, awkward, uncomfortable feeling you get in the pit of your stomach is undoubtedly the clearest sign that you must go through with the task at hand, in order to grow. I’m naturally introverted so I get that feeling ALL the time. Probably even when I shouldn’t. I use to shy away from that feeling and hide. I’ve put myself in a dozen of uncomfortable scenarios this year, and in the end, I’ve always been happy I went through it.

There is so much more I could write about this year alone. It’s been a year full of tremendous amounts of self-realization and learning. Thanks to my core circle of friends that has helped me through 2011.

So pop the bubbly this weekend and celebrate the good times in 2011. Have a safe and happy new years!

 

About Nina

Dreamer, ambitious, fierce but kind. Just celebrating the essence of being a woman.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

